Members

EADS EFW Elbe Flugzeugwerke GmbH

The modern face of Dresden

EADS EFW combines various aviation and technology activities under a single roof: development and manufacturing of flat fibre-reinforced composite components for structures and interiors of the entire Airbus family, conversion of passenger aircraft into freighter configuration, maintenance of Airbus aircraft and engineering services in the context of certification and approval. As the Centre of Excellence Freighter, EADS EFW pushes the further development of the Airbus freighter family.

In the business field of composite structures and interiors, EADS EFW develops, designs and manufactures flat sandwich components for structure and cabin interior for the entire Airbus family. The company is a certified aircraft production organisation in accordance with EASA Part 21G. The product range includes floor and ceiling panels, cargo linings and bullet-proof cockpit doors – in total 50,000 different shapes and layups. Per month, 20,000 elements are being produced and delivered just in time to the Airbus assembly lines. Both for the A380 and the A350 Airbus programmes, EADS EFW is the responsible partner for the construction and production of the complete systems of cargo compartment lining and floor panels. Recently, EADS EFW was assigned from Bombardier Transportation with the development and production of floor panels for the new tramway generation. With this order, EFW expanded its business spectrum beyond the aerospace industry.

The passenger-to-freighter conversion comprises a standard extensive modification, carried out by order of the civil aircraft owner. The freighter conversion market comprises cargo airlines, aerospace companies with small aircraft fleet as well as finance groups. As of today, more than 160 freighter aircraft have been converted for 30 customers throughout the world. Today’s portfolio includes Airbus aircraft of the type A300-600 and A310. Together with its Russian partner companies UAC and Irkut, EADS EFW currently develops a conversion solution for the Airbus single-aisle family A320/A321.

Based on its comprehensive experience, EADS EFW is offering stand-alone maintenance for both freighters and passenger aircraft – acting as a specialist for the entire Airbus family (single-aisle, long-range, wide-body aircraft). Apart from extensive work packages in various maintenance categories, EADS EFW is executing structural modifications and repairs as well as cabin, cockpit and avionics modifications. Additionally, EADS EFW is recognized as an expert for military modification of the Airbus A310 and is certified for repair of Airbus aircraft components.

EADS EFW’s engineering department is a development organisation certified in accordance with European standards (EASA Part 21J) and contributes to the enlargement of the company’s product portfolio. Taking credit of its proved scope of capabilities, EADS EFW provides third parties with cost-efficient engineering services in the context of aircraft safety, certification, application of European requirements, organisation approvals, engineering processes and procedures for aircraft.

Mitglieder

Elbe Flugzeugwerke GmbH

Das moderne Gesicht von Dresden

EADS EFW vereint vielfältige Luftfahrt- und Technologieaktivitäten unter einem Dach: die Entwicklung und Herstellung von ebenen Leichtbaukomponenten für Struktur und Innenraum für alle Airbus-Modelle, die Umrüstung von Passagierflugzeugen in Frachtflugzeuge, die Wartung von Flugzeugen der gesamten Airbus-Familie sowie Engineering-Dienstleistungen rund um Zertifizierung und Zulassung. Als Centre of Excellence Freighter treibt EADS EFW die Weiterentwicklung der Airbus-Frachterfamilie voran.

Im Bereich der Leichtbaukomponenten entwickelt und produziert EADS EFW als Herstellbetrieb für Luftfahrtgeräte (EASA Part 21G) faserverstärkte ebene Sandwich-Paneelen für Struktur und Innenraum aller Airbus-Modelle. Die Produktpalette reicht von Fußbodenplatten über Deckenpaneele und Frachtraumverkleidungen bis hin zu schussfesten Cockpittüren – insgesamt rund 50.000 verschiedene Aufbauten und Formen. Monatlich werden rund 20.000 Elemente gefertigt und just-in-time an die Airbus-Montagelinien geliefert. Sowohl für das A380- als auch für das A350-Programm von Airbus konstruiert und fertigt EADS EFW die Gesamtsysteme Frachtraumverkleidung und Fußbodenplatten. Mit der Entwicklung von Fußbodenplatten für die neue Straßenbahngeneration von Bombardier Transportation erweitert EADS EFW sein Spektrum über den Luftfahrtsektor hinaus.

Die Umrüstung von Passagierflugzeugen in Frachtflugzeuge ist eine übliche umfassende Modifizierung, die im Auftrag der Eigentümer von Flugzeugen der Zivilluftfahrt vorgenommen wird. Der Markt für die Umrüstung in Transportflugzeuge betrifft Frachtfluggesellschaften, Luftfahrtgesellschaften mit kleinen Flugzeugflotten und Finanzgruppen. Bislang wurden über 160 Flugzeuge für rund 30 Kunden umgerüstet. Das heutige Portfolio umfasst dabei Airbus-Flugzeuge vom Typ A300-600 und A310; gemeinsam mit Airbus und den russischen Partnern UAC und Irkut entwickelt EADS EFW derzeit eine Umrüstlösung für die Airbus-Flugzeuge vom Typ A320/A321.

Aufbauend auf einer umfassenden Erfahrung bietet EADS EFW eigenständige Wartung für Passagier- und Frachtflugzeuge an – dabei spezialisiert auf Airbus-Flugzeuge beginnend mit der A320-Familie über Großraumflugzeuge vom Typ A300/310 sowie Langstreckenflugzeuge der A330/A340-Familie. Neben umfangreichen Wartungspaketen der verschiedenen Wartungskategorien führt EADS EFW sowohl Strukturmodifikationen und -reparaturen als auch Kabinen-, Cockpit- und Avionikmodifikationen durch. Zudem gilt EADS EFW als Spezialist für militärische Modifikationen des Airbus A310 und ist ein zugelassener Reparaturbetrieb für Airbus-Flugzeugkomponenten.

Die Engineering-Abteilung von EFW ist eine europäisch zertifizierte Entwicklungsorganisation (EASA Part 21J), die an der Erweiterung des gesamten Produktspektrums von EFW beteiligt ist. Gleichzeitig können Dritte in Form kosteneffizienter Engineering-Dienstleistungen an den umfassenden Fähigkeiten von EADS EFW im Bereich der Flugzeugzertifizierung, Sicherheit, Anwendung europäischer Vorschriften, Organisationszulassung sowie hinsichtlich Prozessen und -abläufen in der Flugzeugentwicklung teilhaben.